Office of Social Services Telephone (203) 834-6238 Fax (203) 563-0172



TOWN HALL 238 Danbury Road Wilton, CT 06897

Wilton Social Services Commission Regular Meeting Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 6:00 PM Senior Center Lounge at Comstock Community Center

Present: Pam Kelley, Sarah Heath, Genevieve Eason, Deborah List, Mike O'Connell, Christine Tenore, and Judy Zucker.

Guest: Phoebe Musico, Wilton Social Services, Adult and Family Social Worker

1. Welcome

Mike welcomed the Commissioners to the meeting.

Mike proposed the Commission accept the minutes of the meeting on April 11, 2019. Having no additions or changes, the minutes were accepted as submitted.

2. Guest Speaker - Wilton Social Services, Adult and Family Social Worker

Sarah introduced Phoebe, a 19-hour per week employee of the Social Services department. Phoebe is a licensed, clinical social worker who has worked in the department for over 2 years.

Phoebe detailed the activities she performs for Wilton residents and clients, including: energy assistance programs; SNAP/HUSKY programs; and MSP programs, among others. She also outlined the agencies she works closely with, including: the DV Task Force and the SWCAA Advisory Council, among others.

A lively and interactive exchange between Phoebe and the Commissioners ensued, focused particularly on the wide range of energy assistance programs

she enables and facilitates for residents and clients.

3. Director's report

Sarah reviewed the April 2019 report that was previously submitted to Commissioners.

4. Liaison Updates:

Pam updated the Commissioners on the recent Family & Children's Agency (FCA) Minks to Sinks sale. She mentioned an interest in formalizing the relationship between WSS and FCA to assist clients.

Judy reviewed the recent donation from Wilton Rocks to the Wilton Community Assistance Fund (WCAF).

Pam mentioned the renovation work at the YMCA is underway.

4. Nominating Committee:

The Nominating Committee submitted the following Commissioners names for the 2019-2020 term. Voting will take place at the June 2019 meeting.

Chairman – Michael O'Connell Vice Chairman – Deborah List Secretary – Genevieve Eason

5. Adjourn, 7:20 PM

Next meeting – June 13, 2019

Respectfully submitted,

Mike O'Connell Acting Secretary